MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY

January 27, 2010

The Academic Council met at 3:30pm on Wednesday, January 27, 2010, in the Deans' Conference Room of Derryberry Hall with Corinne Darvennes, Chairperson, presiding.

The following members of the Council were present:

Dr. Bobby Hodum Dr. Lebron Bell Dr. Roy Loutzenheiser Dr. Chris Wilson Dr. Paul Semmes Dr. Linda Null Mr. Matthew Bedford Dr. Jon Jonakin Dr. Susan Laningham Dr. Brian O'Connor Dr. Jeff Roberts Dr. John Harris Dr. Steve Isbell Dr. Holly Anthony Dr. Corinne Darvennes Dr. Christine Miller

Others attending the meeting were Ms. Regina Lee, Dr. Tom Timmerman, Dr. Glenn James, and Ms. Ann Davis Manginelli representing Ms. Deanna Nipp-Kientz. The following members of the Council were absent:

Dr. James Jordan-Wagner Mr. Lawrence Haas

Ms. Deanna Nipp-Kientz Prof. Susan Clark Reeves

Dr. Pat Bagley Dr. Michael Best Dr. Larry Peach Dr. David Larimore

Approved the minutes of the November 18, 2009 meeting Approved Academic Freedom Policy Amendment #2

Presentation on retention by Dr. Bret Danilowicz, Dean, Georgia Sou

PROCEEDINGS

Dr. Darvennes requested to move item #5 to item #3 to allow our gue presentation. Dr. Miller MOVED approval of the agenda with the no SECONDED. Agenda APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of the Agenda

Approval of the Minutes of the November 18, 2009 Meeting

Dr. Isbell MOVED approval of the minutes and Dr. Loutzenheiser SECONDED. Minutes were APPROVED unanimously.

Academic Freedom Policy Amendment #2

Dr. Armistead stated that he is requesting an amendment to the Academic Freedom Policy amendment that was approved by the Academic Council September 9, 2009. Amendment #2 is to express the original intent by extending the benefits of academic freedom to all individuals teaching a class at TTU. The new proposed wording is "While academic tenure is essential for the protection of academic freedom, the full benefits and responsibilities of academic freedom extend to all individuals teaching at TTU, whether or not they are eligible for tenume." Miller MOVED approval of amendment #2 and Dr. Null SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously. Dr. Armistead will present this amendment to TBR as well as the University Assembly.

Retention Presentation

Dr. Semmes introduced Dr. Bret Danilowicz, Dean of the College of Science and Technology at Georgia Southern University. Dr. Danilowicz explained how the College of Science and Technology, with the assistance of an NSF-STEP grant, was able to improve their retention rate. The key elements were: Data Tracking, Intrusive Advisement, Residential Interest Groups, Supplemental Instruction, Guided Inquiry, and Undergraduate Research. The major element for success is a faculty-based initiative See attached handout of presentation.

Update on University 1020 Classes

Due to the lack of time, this item was postponed until the next Academic Council meeting.

Such Other Matters

None

The meeting was ADJOURNED at 4:45pm.

APPROVED 3/3/10

Carol Holley, Recorder

Documents on file with the minutes:

Academic Freedom Policy Amendment #2 Presentation on retention by Dr. Bret Danilowicz